Self-Promoting Post: New Book (not on Poverty Law) that I co-edited has been published…

This is a self-promoting post, but if you think your school or students at your school might be interested in this book, please let your librarian know.  =)

Tribes, Land, and the Environment (Sarah Krakoff & Ezra Rosser eds. 2012) was published just last month by Ashgate as part of their “Law, Property, and Society” series.  The table of contents can be found here and the introductory chapter that Sarah and I wrote can be found here.  The book is expensive (Sarah and I have agreed to give any proceeds we get from the book to the Native American Rights Fund) but I do think it has great chapters related to tribes and the environment written by some great scholars.

Finally, I want to give a big THANK YOU to my co-editor.  Sarah is a real leader and scholar in both the environmental law and Indian law fields and the book throughout reflects her scholarly insight and ability as an editor.  THANK YOU!

2 responses to “Self-Promoting Post: New Book (not on Poverty Law) that I co-edited has been published…

  1. I buy books, lots of them (and I can scarcely afford them), and I do wish authors would refuse to send their manuscripts to publishers like Ashgate whose prices are simply, and routinely, exorbitant (they’re not the only ones, but one of the worst). I think a book like this could have found a different publisher, one who would have agreed to publish it at a more decent price (one more accessible to the rest of us, and not just libraries and well-paid professionals, like law professors). There is a little irony here, this being a poverty law blog. Oliver Leaman, a philosophy professor I’ve worked with, is an example of someone I know who refuses to use these publishers and has advised those he mentors likewise. I wish others would see fit to follow his fine example.

    That said, congratulations on the book (and I hope to find a used copy some day at an affordable price).

    • Can’t say I really disagree. The challenge we ran into was that this book was a conference themed book and finding a publisher who would accepted the book before the conference was hard. If we would have shopped around the chapters after the conference I think we could have found a publisher whose pricing was better, but live and learn.

Leave a comment