New Book: Dignity: Seeking Respect in Back Row America

New Book: Chris Arnade, Dignity: Seeking Respect in Back Row America (2019).

-I have gone back and forth debating with myself how much I wanted to write about this book and ultimately decided not to write much. But I highly recommend it. Some people may get turned off because J.D. Vance endorsed it, but it is a powerful book that does a great job presenting many of the challenges facing the poor as natural reactions to the ways society harms and humiliates them. It also responds beautifully to the sentiment, including one I sometimes share, that people in declining areas should just move to areas with opportunity. On everything from drugs and religion to work and dignity, this is a great book that I will continue to think about well into the future.

Leave a comment